Dark 4/100

“You don’t have to do this. We can work this out!” One of my so called friends screamed at me. I was done listening to them and their lies. After all, they only wanted to hold me back. They were jealous of what I could do. I was special; they were not. She chose me that fateful night. She wouldn’t have chosen any of the others. They were too weak.

“Whatever. Just leave me be.” I said, rolling my eyes. They didn’t understand. I had to leave. A little town like this couldn’t hold back the big bad wolf. One day, sooner or later, I would wipe this hell hole off the map. Hopefully, that day would be sooner, but I didn’t want to do it this soon. However, I had another reason for getting out. The dark was taking over my life and one day, I wouldn’t be able to hold it back.

“Di, this power isn’t what you think it is! We talked to the local Priest. It’s the power of the Devil! Di, you have to stop! We need to get you to the church!” Another one of my friends begged. It was so pathetic. I just wish they would leave me alone. I really didn’t want to hurt them. It would be a shame if I had to. I really liked them; I really didn’t want the dark to hurt them.

“Ugh. Listen guys, the concern is great, but it’s unneeded. I am happy the way I am now.  I have fantastic powers. I can do what I want. I can finally get out of this hellhole. The world is mine. I can do whatever I wish. Just get out of here and you never have to see me again. You can go on living your white picket fence lives.” I persuaded. I gave them a charming smile to show them I was honest. I wouldn’t mind having them along if they gave into it. Giving into the demon was the best thing I ever did. Or maybe it was the dumbest thing I ever did.

-Flashback-

It was midnight and I had just run out of my house. My father and I had gotten into an argument. We screamed at the top of our lungs and he hit me. He actually hit me several times. My mother didn’t intervene. She was too strung out on all that alcohol to ever really notice what was going on.

I was lost by the point I had reached the cross roads. This was strange; I didn’t remember this place until it hit me. Everyone in our small town knew about the rumor of the crossroads. If you came out here at midnight, a charming man with red eyes would come visit you. They said he could grant your every wish. The catch? You became a creature like him. The Stories weren’t real. They had to be old wives tales.

“We’re not old wives tales. We are very real.” A voice said from behind me. I twirled around to see a handsome man in his late twenties approaching on me.

“Who are you?” I asked, trying to keep a small distance away from him.

The handsome man smiled and answered “A demon, sweetheart. A very specific demon, the demon who can give you what you want.”

I shook my head and stopped moving. This man had to be crazy. There was no way he could give me what he want. “You can’t do that. No one can. The big man upstairs couldn’t even do it.” I said coldly to him.

The crazy man let out a demonic laugh. It shook me to the core and a shiver down my spine. He really had to be crazy. “Oh, but I can darling unlike the big man. All you have to do is make a deal. I can help you get out of here, see the world, live the dream life, and not have to put up with Daddy’s shit anymore.” He replied.

“What do I have to do?” I asked, knowing this was too good to be free. No one would do that out of the kindness of their hearts.

The Man gave me a knowing smile. “Smart Cookie. All you have to do is let a friend of mine co-inhabit your body. She gives you the powers and gets to live. You get to stay in control and you get the life you wanted. How does that sound, Doll?”

I thought for a moment. Even though the deal sounded too good to be true, I couldn’t resist. This was everything I ever wanted. The thought of sharing a body with a demon didn’t sound too bad. “Deal.” I replied within seconds. I held out my hand to shake on the deal.

The Man shook his head with a knowing smile. The next thing I knew, the dark had taken over.

-The First Flashback ends as it moves into another-

My father screamed at me. His face was red and too close to mine for comfort. I could the veins popping out on his face and spit was flying onto my face. He moved into my path as I tried to walk away. “YOU LITTLE SHIT! YOU THINK YOU CAN GET AWAY WITH THIS?” He screamed in my face.

In that moment, something snapped inside me. It was also the first time I heard the dark voice. Let me handle this. You won’t have to deal with this piece of shit after I am done. The voice said. I wanted him out of my face. I wanted him gone. I had no problem giving control to the demon.

-The Flashback ends-

 “We can’t let you go.” My third friend said. The seven of them moved to fight me. Where they really going to do this? They should have just run. I was very sorry about was what going to happen, but the more control I allowed the demon, the more she took over. I didn’t think I was going to stop her this time. It was the reason I had being telling them to run. Why couldn’t they have listened?

“Guys, Run. Run for your lives.” I snarled at them before the dark took over for the final time.

-Unknown Third P.O.V.-

Di or the girl formerly known as Di, raised her head and grinned evilly at the seven before her. Her once pure blue eyes were now black and there was something unnatural about her. “Oh, do the humans think they have what it takes to beat the big bag demon?” She mocked them.

One of the seven asked fearfully “Who are you?”

“Lilith and you should have listened to your friend when she told you to run.”

Word Count: 1,129

Leave a Reply

