Insanity 12/100

Author’s Note: Trigger Warning for Depression. Just to be on the safe side.

I’m not safe

From the monster.

The monster is with me when I am with others.

Her thudding steps match my own.

I can feel her panting down my neck.

I can hear her terrible whispers in my ears.

The others are free from the terrible burden

Of the sight of the fearsome monster.

I’m not safe

From the monster.

She occupies my dreams at night,

Slowly turning a dreamless sleep

Into one with horrible and vicious nightmares

I see the monster,

Hidden in the shadows,

Taking glee in my pain.

I’m not safe

From the monster.

When I am isolated from the world,

She is there by my side.

She whispers dark thoughts into my mind,

Telling me I need not live to see another sunrise.

The monster in my mind knows she’s right.

After all, the monster is I.

Leave a Reply

