Blood 17/100

The enemy wears blood of the innocent on their hands.
It coats their hands like crimson gloves
and stains their souls, leaving a mark forever.
I am better than them.
I am nothing like them.
I do not slaughter the perfectly innocent
in the name of a faceless dictator.
I do not pillage the small villages
in the name of a faulty king.
I do not wage total war
in the name of an idiot leader.
They are barbaric savages, fighting
in the name of hatred and prejudice.
I am the fearless hero, fighting
for freedom and that which is right.
Then why can I not for the life of me,
Wash the blood off my own hands?
I am nothing like them.
I will always be better than them.

Leave a Reply

